dunce

I can’t believe I’ve only had two weeks of this learning-Mandarin business. These weeks have been incredibly long and challenging; I spend more days completely lost than I’d care to admit. Laoshi says the first month is the most difficult, which makes sense, but I’m to believe this gets easier?

She whipped through how to talk about last/this/next month/week/day/morning/evening in about an hour on Wednesday, and she opened on Thursday with questions about what we’d done yesterday morning or what we’re planning to do with the coming weekend. Frankly, I hadn’t the foggiest what she or anyone else was saying. My anxiety climbed as she went from student to student: Colin, standing right next to me, understood and answered what sounded like an extremely complicated question. She asked me what I’d done the morning previous, and I answered that I’d be going to the jungle town of Wulai. Her look of surprise and Colin’s of slight panic alerted me that there’d been a misunderstanding. She went with my answer and asked what I’d be doing that weekend, and all was righted.

Except I still had no idea what anyone, including myself, had said.

I haven’t been so frustrated in a classroom since taking AP physics junior year of high school without having taken any calculus.

And now that Greg the bully has dropped the class, there’s really no one I can count on to understand less than me. Damn.

In sillier news, here are some photos!

Sunset from our riverside park

Sunset from our riverside park

Kites for sale--and the tallest building in the world looking quite small in the background

Kites for sale--and the tallest building in the world looking quite small in the background.

We stumbled across this temple being renovated on a walk to our morning market. These are tucked away all over our neighborhood.

We stumbled across this temple being renovated on a walk to our morning market. These are tucked away all over our neighborhood.

A parade of lights to celebrate Ghost Month, I think

A parade of lights to celebrate Ghost Month, I think

Two high school girls were so excited to be sitting in front of foreigners on the bus that they had to take pictures. So we posed for them!

Two high school girls were so excited to be sitting in front of foreigners on the bus that they had to take pictures with their phones. So we posed for them!

Just like the real deal, except she's covered in movie advertisements

Just like the real deal, except she's covered in movie advertisements.

Buying second-hand chairs across town had a few advantages over buying second-hand rice cookers across town.

Buying second-hand chairs across town had a few advantages over buying second-hand rice cookers across town. Yes, I'm in the subway station.

Also, I’m going back to add pictures to the post about our Saturday night out at the Factory. Take a look!

One response

  1. Hey Cuz,
    Enjoying your stuff… keep it up.
    Can relate some to the language difficulties… I’m in Thailand and it’s a tonal language as well…
    later,
    m

Leave a Reply

