What’s the bloomin’ rush?

I guess I should finally pack away my dreams of sledding down the hill across the street, as I’m recovering from what I suspect was a mild case of heat exhaustion as I write. With temperatures reaching into the 80s today and nothing but beautiful weather stretching as far as the forecast can say, I’d say winter is a goner.

I got to spend this beautiful day outside, too, as luck would have it. We did a school planting with a bunch of 1st and 2nd graders, and I got to be the photographer. The kids were a crack-up and the trees look great, but we were planting in the very hottest part of the day. Hence the heat exhaustion.

There’s no way I’d miss the flowering trees in all their showy glory, but thanks to the tree-focused internship, I’m starting to notice the early signs. There’s a tree whose branches reach practically into our bedroom window, and I’ve been monitoring it everyday. I don’t have the language for everything I’m witnessing, but it’s neat nonetheless.

Not the tree outside my window, but too pretty to be left out.

All of this is really making me want a yard to plant a garden in. I’m making do with the mini-rose bush Colin gifted me for Valentine’s Day. I don’t have a picture for you right now, because it’s recovering from a perhaps too-harsh pruning session (suffered at my hands), but it’s making a comeback, as expected.

And in celebration of spring and math, I am participating in Pi Day tomorrow. I’m going to try my hand at a lemon meringue pie—go big or go home, right?

One response

Leave a Reply

