Yes, I do plan to go to Tunisia

The moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves as well. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen accidents, meetings and material assistance that no one could have dreamed would come their way. Whatever you can do or dream you can do, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.
—Goethe

Yesterday I wasn’t ready to tell you how Colin’s Boren Fellowship will affect me. I wasn’t as committed to my decision when I’d written that post. I had a bit more to work out than Colin did when he decided to take it.

Like, What is it I’ve been working toward these past nine months? Now I’ll be back at square one. And, What would I even do over there? And worst of all, Won’t this turn out like all the bad of Italy without as much of the good?

But those are quite little questions compared to, Do I want to be bold? And more honestly, What would the pain of nine months apart be worth?

I think so, and more than what I’ve got here right now.

Those little questions even got easier to answer after I committed. I need a visa to be there: a student visa would be the easiest to get, so I would have to enroll in French classes. Plus there would sure be plenty to write about. If only because of those things, life in Tunisia would be a lot more like my experience in Taiwan than that in Italy (maybe not as easy, but likely more fulfilling).

When I get back, there will surely still be jobs available. Perhaps not these jobs that I have on my list right now, but others. And my references will likely still remember me, if only because I’ll be the one who went off to Tunisia. We have the rest of our lives to work and set down roots; a bit more time being bold can’t set us back too far.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

