Back to school

Almost everyone who reads this knows already, but I’m a working girl now! I’m subbing at a private international school here in my neighborhood that has quite the international mix of students, pre-K through 12, including a sizable chunk of Moroccans. The language of instruction is English, so I’m able to sub in just about any class they need me, which recently has been in their elementary computer lab.

Let me tell you, computer labs have come a long way since I was in elementary school. These kids are working on (and sneezing all over) brand-new Macs, and they have all sorts of neat programs that engage the different grades while teaching good computer habits. What I’m saying is that I bet the middle schoolers could beat me in a words-per-minute typing contest.

I’m still working on the occasional editing project, but it’s really nice to get out of the house and be around people, even if a lot of them are 5 years old. Plus I didn’t exactly bring enough clothes to be going regularly to a job, so I had to go shopping.

So far I really like it, but I hope that after this long-term sub gig in the computer lab wraps up (maybe next week) I’ll be tapped to work in some of the secondary classrooms. As the sub, I won’t ever find myself leading the classroom–I get rotated into an assistant teacher position–so there’s not too much pressure, but I still get a sense of whether I might like to do this when we get back to real life.

Oh, and in unrelated news, Colin and I spent our three-day weekend de-gunking and figuring out our oven, and now we’re confident that it can be used. Yes!

Leave a Reply

