Koh Yao Noi Muay Thai Camp

View from the restaurant.

View from the restaurant.


It’s been a few days, but I’ve come out of the stupor that sets in with three days of traveling, an 11-hour time difference, and awakening in an island paradise. We are back in Thailand, my favorite country for visiting, for Colin to train in the art of Thai kickboxing for about a month. He picked out a gym situated on a little bay of a little island on a charming little compound with literally everything we might need for the month all in the area of a single block. Our ground floor apartment’s patio is 6 steps from the pool, the Wi-Fi usually is strong enough on said patio to check for updates on Facebook, and when it’s not, we’re only ever an hour or so away from a meal prepared in the restaurant, where the Internet is strong and consistent.
IMAG0657
Colin’s workouts happen in a gym that stretches over the water and has only two walls. He limps out of there twice a day, but the sunsets are spectacular. There are cats everywhere—beautiful, cared-for cats that like to visit while I’m doing yoga. For my part, I continue to work from “home,” and I’ve nearly finished Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan, author of Atonement, which I enjoyed immensely. I suppose one could get bored of a month of this, but I still have plans to get a massage, swim to the nearest island, and read the eight other books on my Kindle.
One of the many visitors to our patio.

One of the many visitors to our patio.

Leave a Reply

