“We’re going on an adventure!”

An adventure to see if I could in fact swim to that island across the channel we’d been looking at for two and a half weeks. I’m nowhere near as fit as I was in my swim team days, but it doesn’t look too far and the channel’s about as calm as the ocean gets.

That thin strip of white sand across the channel is where we were headed.

That thin strip of white sand across the channel is where we were headed.

And I had a support boat. Colin gamely paddled our rented double kayak with our lunches and beach gear safely stowed. He also kept an eye out for passing long-tail boats, but there was almost no traffic that day.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALong story short, I made it! I had to flop over and float on my back twice or thrice, but I swam the roughly 2 km without needing to be fished out or towed by the kayak. The prize at the end was a dish of fried rice under the shelter Colin constructed with his poncho and some paracord.
20131030_121413Two days later we went on another adventure, renting a scooter and exploring a bit more of this little island. Zoom zoom.
IMAG0750

Leave a Reply

